About us

Our Mission

Our aim is to promote and advance economic research in Switzerland and to improve the collaboration between the domestic and international research community. An important focus lies also on the promotion of young economist by providing them with the appropriate platform to present their scientific work.

Board of Directors, as of June 2018


Yvan Lengwiler, University of Basel

Executive Committee

Yvan Lengwiler, University of Basel
Monika Bütler, University of St.Gallen
Rafael Lalive, University of Lausanne

Secretary and Treasurer

Nina Hugelshofer, Swiss National Bank, Zurich

Editor of the SJES

Rafael Lalive, University of Lausanne

Other Members

Kurt Schmidheiny, University of Basel
Blaise Melly, University of Bern
Thierry Madies, University of Fribourg
Philipp Krueger, University of Geneva
Rahul Mukherjee, Graduate Institute for International and Development Studies, Geneva
Adrian Bruhin, University of Lausanne
Patricia Funk, University of Lugano
Manuel Oechslin, University of Lucerne
Milad Zarin-Nejadan, University of Neuchâtel
Reto Föllmi, University of St. Gallen
Rainer Winkelmann, University of Zurich
Marko Köthenbürger, ETH Zurich
Boris Zürcher, State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Sylvia Kaufmann, Study Center Gerzensee
Carlos Lenz, Swiss National Bank


Urs Muller, BAK Basel Economics, Basel
Matthias Pfammatter, Oberzolldirektion, Bern


The byelaws of the society are only available in german . The latest revision is from 14 June 2018.

Protocols of the General Assembly

The protocols are in german and/or french.